Thursday, May 5, 2016

Respighi: Pini di Roma

Ottorino Respighi: Pini di Roma
Waseda Symphony Orchestra Tokyo
Dir. Ken Takaseki

Sunday, May 1, 2016

Wagner: Tristan und Isolde (Barenboim)

Richard Wagner: "Tristan und Isolde", Opera in 3 acts

Tristan: René Kollo (tenor)
Isolde: Johanna Meier (soprano)
King Marke: Matti Salminen (bass)
Kurwenal: Hermann Becht (baritone)
Melot: Robert Schunk (tenor)
Brangäne: Hanna Schwarz (mezzo)

Orchester der Bayreuther Festspiele
Dir. Daniel Barenboim

Wagner: Parsifal - Prelude to Act 1 (Klemperer)

Otto Klemperer conducts Wagner's Parsifal (Prelude to Act 1).

Sunday, April 10, 2016

Nino Rota: Concerto for Strings

Young Soloists of Ljubljana
Director: Matej Haas

Nino Rota: "Il Gattopardo" (Suite)

Suite from Luchino Visconti`s film "Il Gattopardo"
by Nino Rota

1° Titoli di testa "Viaggio a Donnafugata"
2° "Angelica & Tancredi"
3° "I Sogni del Principe" - "Giovani Eori" - "Partenza di Tancredi" - "Amore & Ambizione" - "Quasi in porto" - "Finale"

Orchestre Accademia S.Cecilia, Opera Roma, RAI Roma
Franco Ferrara, conductor

Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Mozart: Piano concerto no. 27 in B flat major, KV 595 - Maria João Pires

Mozart: Piano concerto no. 27 in B flat major, KV 595

Maria João Pires: piano

Chamber Orchestra of Europe
Conducted by Trevor Pinnock

Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 - Simon Trpčeski

Sergei Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2

Simon Trpčeski, piano

Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko, conductor

Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 3 - Martha Argerich

Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 3 in C major, Op 26

Martha Argerich, piano

London Symphony Orchestra
André Previn, conductor

Saturday, March 5, 2016

Taking a break from Music with some History and a little of... Physics!

Here are two studies on diverse subjects, which I completed recently:

1. An American scholar reexamines some of our established views regarding the two most evil men of the 20th century:

Hitler – Stalin: Two monsters on the balance of History

2. A Greek physicist tries to explain what on earth these newly detected gravitational waves are:

Electromagnetic waves, gravitational waves and the prophets who predicted them

Hope you find them interesting!